Protecting persons,
property and the environment
Protecting persons,
property and the environment

International Cooperation

The NNR is mandated in terms of section 5(e) of the NNR Act, to fulfil South Africa’s obligations in respect of international instruments concerning nuclear safety; and to act as the national competent authority in connection with the International Atomic Energy Agency’s Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material.

The NNR’s international cooperation footprint is broad in scope and ranges from fulfilling legally binding national obligations, contributing to the enhancement of global safety standards, participating in IAEA expert peer review missions, technical counterparts on cooperation initiatives, facilitating bilateral cooperation on regulatory matters and participating in various multilateral fora.

Nuclear Safety Conventions

South Africa is a signatory to various international treaties and conventions, which places legally binding obligations on the national government to demonstrate compliance. As the national competent authority, the NNR coordinates and implements South Africa’s contracting party obligations under two conventions; namely, the Convention on Nuclear Safety (CNS) and the Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste Management (Joint Convention). The NNR participates in the peer review process of other contracting parties’ submissions which entails both a self-appraisal in compiling the report and an independent international peer review.

IAEA Safety Standards Committee

The IAEA Safety Standards reflect an international consensus on what constitutes a high level of safety for protecting people and the environment from harmful effects of ionising radiation. They serve as a global reference for protecting people and the environment and contribute to a harmonised high level of safety worldwide. The Safety Standards, describe the fundamental safety principles and practical guidelines for members states to use as the basis for their national regulations. The NNR is actively represented on the following IAEA Safety Standards Committees:

  • Nuclear Safety Standards Committee (NUSSC)
  • Radiation Safety Standards Committee (RASSC)
  • Emergency Preparedness and Response Standards Committee (EPReSC)
  • Transport Safety Standards Committee (TRANSSC)
  • Waste Safety Standards Committee (WASSC)


Radiation Safety Information Management System (RASIMS)

The IAEA’s RASIMS enables Member States to assess how closely their infrastructures for radiation safety are aligned with IAEA Safety Standards’ recommendations and requirements.

RASIMS is a web-based platform that gives IAEA Member States the framework for collecting, analysing and viewing information that reflects the status of their national infrastructure for radiation, transport and waste safety. The NNR is South Africa’s National Coordinator for RASIMS.

United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR)

UNSCEAR was established by the United Nations General Assembly to assess and report levels and effects of all sources of ionising radiation. The UNSCEAR online platform supports governments and international organizations to provide national and regional data on radiation exposure of the public, workers and patients. UNSCEAR conducts regular surveys of radiation exposure worldwide and invites national contact persons to submit official data using a prescribed questionnaire via the online platform. All contributions are acknowledged by UNSCEAR in the relevant report to the UN General Assembly. The NNR participates in UNSCEAR initiatives on public exposure to radiation.

The Regulatory Cooperation Forum (RCF)

The NNR is an active member of the RCF which promotes the sharing of regulatory knowledge and experience through international cooperation and collaboration. The RCF currently comprises of members from Bangladesh, Belarus, Canada, Chile, China, Egypt, the European Commission, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, the IAEA, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, the NEA, Pakistan, Poland, Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, South Africa, Sudan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America and Vietnam.

Technical and Scientific Bilateral Cooperation

In support of its core mandate, the NNR enters into formal regulatory bilateral cooperation agreements with international authorities to facilitate technical information sharing in areas of mutual interest concerning nuclear safety.

The NNR has formal bilateral cooperation agreements with ASN (France), ARPANSA (Australia), CNSC (Canada), KINS (South Korea), NNSA (Peoples Republic of China), PAA (Poland), Rostechnadzor (Russian Federation), STUK (Finland), UKONR (United Kingdom) and the USNRC (United States of America).

Forum for Nuclear Regulatory Bodies in Africa (FNRBA)

The FNRBA is a regional network which was established to improve the nuclear safety and security infrastructures in Africa. Countries represented in the FNRBA are; Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Cote D’Ivoire, DR Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi , Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zimbabwe.

The FNRBA serves as a platform for the effective exchange of regulatory experiences and practices among the nuclear regulatory bodies. The forum has established six project-based thematic working groups (TWG) to deliver on its identified priorities. NNR subject matter experts coordinate two TWGs. The TWG’s contribute to FNRBA efforts aimed at assisting African Member States in strengthening and sustaining their national capacity building in nuclear safety and security.

African Regional Co-operative Agreement (AFRA)

AFRA is an intergovernmental Agreement established by  African Member States to strengthen and enlarge the contribution of nuclear science and technology to socioeconomic development on the African continent. NNR subject matter counterparts participate in technical cooperation projects under the AFRA Agreement.


Eco Glades Office Park
Eco Glades 2Block G
Witch Hazel Avenue
Highveld Ext 75
Eco Park

Telephone: +27 (12) 674 7100

Facsimile: +27 (12) 663 5513



12 Raats Drive
Delphi Arch Building
Cape Town

P.O. Box 46055

Telephone: +27 (21) 553 9500

Regulatory Emergency Response Centre

Tel: +27 (12) 674 7120 (during response)

Fax: 086 742 6038


Stay connected